JROTC 在菲什伯恩更胜一筹

Fishburne 的 JROTC 不仅是该国最古老的学校之一,而且作为一个具有优异成绩的荣誉单位,Fishburne 还是少数几所可以向美国任何服务学院提名合格候选人的学校之一。如果您的儿子想就读服务学院,菲什伯恩提供其他弗吉尼亚军事学院无法比拟的优势。

在菲什伯恩,9-12 年级每学年都会自动加入我们的 JROTC(初级预备军官训练团)计划,使其成为 FMS 体验不可或缺的一部分。此外,我们的暑期项目是美国陆军学员司令部第 4 旅完全认可的全国仅有的四个暑期项目之一,这对我们的学员来说是一次更有价值的体验。

像 Fishburne 一样,JROTC 专注于教授以下方面的价值:
国籍
领导
服务社区
个人的责任
像 Fishburne 一样,JROTC 致力于向每位学员灌输以下品质:
成就感
自尊心
团队合作
自律

我们的 JROTC 课程由陆军人员直接教授

该课程使用美国陆军开发和提供的教材,旨在帮助每位学员成为更好的公民、更强大的领导者、更具批判性的思考者和更全面的人。在 JROTC 的四年中,您将学习从气步枪和军事演习到工程和社会责任的所有知识。您还将获得将伴随您一生的领导技能。

JROTC 全国影响

可以说,JROTC 是美国历史上最成功和最有影响力的面向青年的项目之一。当教育工作者和其他人衡量成功时,我们确定了五个质量指标,用于衡量高中项目的有效性。这五个质量指标是出勤率、毕业率、违纪率、辍学率和 GPA。 JROTC 在以下每个类别中都超过了学校的平均水平:

类别 学校 JROTC
出勤率 90.3 % 93.5 %
毕业 83.0 % 93.9 %
不守纪律 5.2 % 1.7 %
辍学 8.0 % < 1 %
平均绩点 2.72 2.91

我们的夏季 JROTC 也是精英

我们的暑期 JROTC 项目是美国陆军学员司令部完全认可的四个暑期项目之一。这是一件大事。我们国家认可的 JROTC 讲师团队将教授:

速降
速降是一种使用绳索以受控方式从高处(例如悬崖或墙壁)下降的方法,其中一个人滑下锚定的绳索并施加摩擦力以控制一个人的速度,或者通过专门的设备或通过将绳索从一侧大腿下方穿过另一侧肩膀。在世界其他地方,速降的另一个术语是绳降。

定向
定向运动通常被称为“思维运动”,因为它除了一项伟大的锻炼外,还涉及地图阅读和决策制定。目标是跑到地图上显示的一系列点,选择路线——无论是在赛道上还是在赛道外——这将帮助你找到所有的点并在最短的时间内回到终点。球场上的点标有橙色和白色的旗帜和拳头,因此您可以证明您曾经去过那里。每个“控制”标记都位于不同的特征上,例如河流交汇处或小丘的顶部。

一索桥
训练的一部分在比赛中达到高潮,其中八名 JROTC 学员必须使用一根绳索越过障碍物,并且只允许第一个和最后一个学员接触障碍物。其余学员必须在绳桥上穿越。

演习和仪式
演习由特定的运动组成,通过这些运动,团队有秩序地从一个编队移动到另一个编队(或从一个地方到另一个地方)。小组中的每个人都最能学习这些动作并完全按照描述执行每个部分。一个人还可以根据团队的动作调整自己的动作。编队中的每个人都必须按照命令一起移动。

JROTC:100 多年来激励年轻人

JROTC 成立于 1916 年,旨在“激励年轻人成为更好的公民”,现在有 1,700 多所公立和私立学校。但是很少有 JROTC 项目能像 Fishburne 的那样强大。

灌输核心价值观

JROTC 提供优质的公民、品格和领导力发展计划,同时促进社区和教育机构内的伙伴关系。在菲什伯恩军校的 JROTC 计划的核心是致力于向年轻学员传授陆军 JROTC 核心价值观的价值:

  • 特点
  • 个人社会责任
  • 学术成就
  • 健身
  • 领导
  • 团队合作
  • 无私服务社区和他人
  • 美国遗产和历史

领导力教育培训 \ 一键四年

JROTC 的每一年都挤满了很棒的东西,其中有很多会让你大吃一惊。要查看您在四年中每一年将学习和做的事情的惊人多样性,请单击此处

网络爱国者

网络世界是新的战场。通过加入 JROTC CyberPatriot 计划,您将与州、地区(如果您足够好)国家赛事中的其他学校竞争,这些赛事以一种偷偷摸摸的乐趣来测试您新获得的网络安全技能。

学术和领导力碗

Fishburne 的 JROTC 在学术和领导力比赛中与其他学校竞争,尽管是最小的学校,但我们始终如一地带来它。

College Options Foundations Inc 与美国陆军学员司令部联合设计了一个学术和领导团队计划,作为一种创造性和有趣的方法,让年轻学生为高中和 JROTC 之后的生活做好准备。 FMS 和其他 JROTC 项目之间的比赛在整个学年进行,为我们的学员提供了建立信心和平衡的机会,同时在友好而有趣的场所展示他们对主题的掌握。

学术碗
学术碗团队的训练和比赛基于美国 JROTC 领导力教育培训计划的 ACT/SAT 风格问题、时事和主题。

领导碗
领导碗团队使用基于情景的问题、乔治·马歇尔将军领导原则、“思维导图”、“课堂绩效系统”和学习技巧来应用价值观和领导原则。我们的团队每周在 JROTC 计算机实验室使用在线 SAT/ACT 备考网站进行练习。

突击队

实力\纪律\承诺\团队合作

这里并不是所有的领导和学者。我们的 Raider 团队带来了肌肉、勇气和决心——无论是 5K 公路行军、在单绳桥上穿越还是车辆牵引。自 2014 年以来,我们的突袭者三度被美国陆军学员司令部第 4 旅评为“最佳中的最佳”。

突袭者掌握团队合作的艺术,并在每次突袭者会议期间参加各种活动。他们相互依赖以取得成功,并且每年都力争做到最好。你准备好帮助我们再次成为最好的吗?

即将到来的袭击者演习会议

1 月 25 日 @ Harrisonburg HS(演习会议) 2 月 22 日 @ Buckingham HS(演习会议)
2 月 1 日@Fishburne 军校(家庭演习会议) 3 月 7 日@白金汉 HS(攻略)
2 月 8 日 @ Huguenot HS(演习会议) 3 月 14 日@Magna Vista HS(攻略)
 
 

演习和仪式团队

没有什么比精确和纪律严明的演习或仪式团队更令人印象深刻的了。在 Fishburne,我们为自己的产品感到非常自豪。另外,他们可以在这里的所有大型活动中处于领先地位。

  •  
    哈金斯步枪
    精锐的Hudgins步枪操练队掌握了美国陆军的精确武器手册和对向运动。
    以纪念菲什伯恩的第二任主管摩根·哈金斯上校的名字命名,哈金斯步枪队在全国演习会议上进行了表演,并接受了美国陆军第 3 步兵师(也称为阿灵顿国家公墓的“老卫兵”)成员的校园训练. Hudgins Rifles 执行基于 Old Guard 和海军陆战队 Silent Drill Team 动作的精确例程,提供令人惊叹的娱乐。
  •  
    色彩保护
    FMS 的精英 Color Guard 小组在众多游行以及运动和特殊活动中表演。
    从华盛顿橄榄球队和弗吉尼亚大学篮球队到 Apple Blossom Parade 和韦恩斯伯勒自己的秋叶节,这个屡获殊荣的团体总是能激励那些有幸观看表演的人。
  •  
    监管演练队
    Fishburne 的规则训练小组不知疲倦地工作,以完善排规模的行进和面对动作。

军校学生费斯本军事学校团举办的年度活动

第一编队 校友周末回顾游行
色彩的祝福 毕业颁奖典礼
父母军事周末 NCO“牛奶工”毕业游行
退伍军人节游行(弗吉尼亚州斯汤顿) 圣诞游行
退伍军人节仪式 整个美国的花环
JPA\JROTC 项目认可检查 亚历山大老城的乔治华盛顿生日游行

全国青少年网络教育计划

网络爱国者

CyberPatriot 是一项全国青年网络教育计划,旨在激励学生从事网络安全和其他科学、技术、工程和数学 (STEM) 学科的职业。全国青少年网络防御大赛是一项赛事结构的赛事。由 2-5 名学生组成的小组根据他们识别和保护操作系统虚拟机映像上已知漏洞的能力进行评分。比赛不仅有趣和令人兴奋,它还为今天的弗吉尼亚军校学生创造了一条职业道路,促进了从高中到大学的继续教育,以及他们职业生涯的开始。

CyberPatriots 团队是 JROTC 赞助的网络安全团队,他们在州、地区和国家赛事中争夺最高位置。竞争使学生成为负责管理小公司网络的 IT 专业人员。

JROTC is Better at Fishburne

Not only is Fishburne’s JROTC one of the oldest in the country, as an Honor Unit with Distinction, Fishburne is one of only a few schools anywhere that can nominate qualified candidates to ANY of the U.S, service academies. If your son wants to attend a service academy, Fishburne offers advantages other Virginia military academies can’t equal.

At Fishburne, Grades 9-12 are automatically enrolled in our JROTC (Junior Reserved Officer Training Corps) program every academic year, making it an integral part of the FMS experience. In addition, our summer program is one of only four summer programs in the nation that is fully accredited by the 4th Brigade, U.S. Army Cadet Command, making it a more valuable experience for our cadets.

Like Fishburne, JROTC is focused on teaching the value of:
Citizenship
Leadership
Service to the community
Personal responsibility
Like Fishburne, JROTC is committed to instilling the following qualities in each cadet:
A sense of accomplishment
Self-esteem
Teamwork
Self-discipline

Our JROTC Program is Taught Directly by Army Personnel

Using teaching materials developed and provided by the United States Army, the curriculum has been crafted to help make every cadet be a better citizen, a stronger leader, a more critical thinker and more well-rounded man. As you make your way through the four years of JROTC, you’ll learn everything from air rifle and military drills to engineering and social responsibility. You’ll also acquire leadership skills that will follow you through your whole life.

JROTC National Impact

Arguably, JROTC is one of the most successful and significantly impactful youth-oriented programs in American history. As educators and others measure success, we have identified five Quality Indicators used to measure the effectiveness of the program in high schools. These five Quality Indicators are attendance, graduation, indiscipline, drop-out rate, and GPA. JROTC exceeds schools’ averages in each of these categories:

Category School JROTC
Attendance 90.3 % 93.5 %
Graduation 83.0 % 93.9 %
Indiscipline 5.2 % 1.7 %
Dropout 8.0 % < 1 %
GPA 2.72 2.91

Our Summer JROTC is elite too

Our Summer JROTC program is one of only four Summer programs in the country that is fully accredited by US Army Cadet Command. That’s a big deal. Our nationally recognized team of JROTC instructors will teach:

Rappelling
Rappelling is a means of using a rope to descend in a controlled manner from a height, such as a cliff or wall, in which one slides down an anchored rope and applies friction to control one’s speed, either by means of a specialized device or by passing the rope under one thigh and over the opposite shoulder. In other parts of the world, another term for rappelling is abseiling.

Orienting
Orienteering is often called the “thinking sport” because it involves map reading and decision-making in addition to a great workout. The object is to run to a series of points shown on the map, choosing routes—both on and off trail—that will help you find all the points and get back to the finish in the shortest amount of time. The points on the course are marked with orange and white flags and punches, so you can prove you’ve been there. Each “control” marker is located on a distinct feature, such as a stream junction or the top of a knoll.

One Rope Bridge
A part of the training culminates in a competition wherein teams of eight JROTC cadets must cross an obstacle using one rope and only the first and last cadets are allowed to touch the obstacle. The rest of the cadets must traverse on the rope bridge.

Drill and Ceremony
Drill consists of certain movements by which the group moves in an orderly manner from one formation to another (or from one place to another). Each within the group most learn these movements and execute each part exactly as described. One also adapts your own movements to those of the group. Everyone in the formation must move together on command.

JROTC: Over 100 years of motivating young men

Established in 1916 to “motivate young people to be better citizens,” JROTC is now in more than 1,700 public and private schools. But few JROTC programs are as robust as Fishburne’s.

Instilling Core Values

JROTC provides a quality Citizenship, Character and Leadership Development program while fostering partnerships within communities and educational institutions. At the Heart of Fishburne Military School’s JROTC program is a dedication to teaching young Cadets the value of Army JROTC’s core values:

  • Character
  • Personal Social Responsibility
  • Academic Achievement
  • Fitness
  • Leadership
  • Teamwork
  • Selfless Service to Community and Others
  • American Heritage and History

Leadership Education Training \ Four years in single click

Every year of JROTC is jam-packed with awesome stuff, tons of which will totally surprise you. To see the amazing variety of what you’ll learn and do during each of your four years, click here.

CyberPatriots

The cyber world is the new battleground. By joining the JROTC CyberPatriot programs, you’ll compete with other schools in state, regional (and if you’re good enough) national events that test your newly acquired cybersecurity skills in a way that’s sneaky fun.

Academic & Leadership Bowls

Fishburne’s JROTC competes with other schools in academic and leadership competitions and, despite being the smallest school, we consistently bring it.

College Options Foundations Inc, designed a program for Academic and Leadership Teams in conjunction with the US Army Cadet Command as a creative and fun method of preparing young students for life after High School and JROTC. Competitions between FMS and other JROTC programs take place throughout the school year and offer our Cadets a chance to build confidence and poise while demonstrating their mastery of the subject matter in a friendly and fun venue.

Academic Bowl
The Academic Bowl Team’s training and competitions are based on ACT/SAT style questions, current events and topics from the United States JROTC’s Leadership Education Training Program.

Leadership Bowl
The Leadership Bowl Team applies values and leadership principles using scenario based questions, General George Marshall leadership principles, “Thinking Maps,” “Classroom Performance Systems,” and learning techniques. Our teams practice weekly in the JROTC Computer Lab using online SAT/ACT preparations sites.

Raider Team

Strength \ Discipline \ Commitment \ Teamwork

It’s not all leadership and academics around here. Our Raider Team brings the muscle, the grit and the determination—whether it’s a 5K road march, crossing on a one-rope-bridge or a vehicle pull. Our Raiders have been recognized as “Best of the Best” within US Army Cadet Command’s 4th Brigade three times since 2014.

Raiders master the art of teamwork and compete in a variety of events during each Raider Meet. They depend upon one another for success and strive every year to be the best. Are you ready to help us be among the best again?

Upcoming Raider Drill Meets

Jan. 25 @ Harrisonburg HS (Drill Meet) Feb. 22 @ Buckingham HS (Drill Meet)
Feb. 1 @ Fishburne Military School (Home Drill Meet) March 7 @ Buckingham HS (Raiders)
Feb. 8 @ Huguenot HS (Drill Meet) March 14 @ Magna Vista HS (Raiders)
 
 

Drill and Ceremony Teams

There are few things more impressive than a precise and disciplined drill or ceremony team. And at Fishburne, we take great pride in ours. Plus, they get to be front and center at all the big events around here.

  •  
    HUDGINS RIFLES
    The elite Hudgins Rifles drill team masters the U.S. Army’s precision Arms Manual and Facing Movements.
    Named in honor of COL Morgan Hudgins, Fishburne’s second superintendent, the Hudgins Rifles have performed in National Drill Meets and received on-campus training from members of the US Army’s 3rd Infantry Division (also known as “The Old Guard” from Arlington National Cemetery). Executing precision routines based on Old Guard and Marine Corps Silent Drill Team movements, the Hudgins Rifles provides awe-inspiring entertainment.
  •  
    COLOR GUARD
    The elite Color Guard group at FMS performs at numerous parades as well as athletic and special events.
    From Washington Football Team and the University of Virginia basketball to the Apple Blossom Parade and Waynesboro’s own Fall Foliage Festival, this award winning group never fails to inspire those fortunate enough to view a performance.
  •  
    REGULATION DRILL TEAM
    Fishburne’s Regulation Drill Team works tirelessly to perfect platoon-sized marching and facing movements.

Annual events conducted by the Fishburne Military School Corps of Cadets

First Formation Alumni Weekend Review Parade
Blessing of the Colors Graduation Awards Parade
Parents Military Weekend NCO “milkman” Graduation Parade
Veterans Day Parade (Staunton, VA) Christmas Parades
Veterans Day Ceremonies Wreaths Across America
JPA \ JROTC Program Accreditation Inspection Old Town Alexandria’s George Washington Birthday Parade

National Youth Cyber Education Program

CyberPatriots

CyberPatriot is the National Youth Cyber Education Program created to motivate students towards careers in cybersecurity and other science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) disciplines. The national youth cyber defense competition is a tournament structured event. Teams of 2-5 students are scored on how well they identify and secure known vulnerabilities on virtual machine images of operating systems. The competition is not only fun and exciting, it also creates a career path for today’s Virginia military academy students, fostering continued education from high school through college and into the beginning of their careers.

The CyberPatriots Team is a JROTC sponsored cybersecurity team which competes for top placement in state, regional and national events. Competition puts students in the position of IT professionals tasked with managing the network of a small company.