Fishburne Military School Presents Spring Athletics Awards

Fishburne Military School Honors Spring Athletes

Waynesboro, VA — Three times each school year the Fishburne Military School Caissons come together in Lawton Chapel to celebrate the successes of their athletic teamsFishburne Military School (Waynesboro, VA) Spring Athletics Awards and to recognize individual efforts and achievements. The awards presentations are then followed by a special dinner prepared for the athletes.

Fishburne Military School Athletics Director, MAJ Bryan Greene (VA), opened up the Spring Athletics Awards ceremony noting:  “The purpose of this banquet is to recognize those who stuck with their teams and refused to quit. The refusal to quit is a characteristic we should all respect.”

Following Coach Greene’s remarks, each coach recognized their team’s standouts, and congratulated each of their athletes for a season of effort and determination.

The only Faculty and Staff award given at FMS’ Athletic Ceremonies is The MSG Michael Anson Caissons Coach of the Year Award. The award was instituted in 2014 to recognize the coach who is viewed by their peers for being an advocate of the student-athlete; taking not only their team’s success into consideration, but also their commitment to their athletes’ success outside of athletics. The 2017-2018 Caisson Coach of the Year Award was declared a tied between Dr. Chip Hill and Coach Terrell Thompson.

Hill came to FMS as a volunteer coach in 2012 working under two head coaches before taking the head job in 2015, winning a conference championship that same year. This season was Coach Hill’s last as head coach and his efforts were not ignored.

Football Medals at Fishburne Military School (Waynesboro, VA) Spring Athletics AwardsIn his inaugural season as the Baseball coach, Terrell Thompson’s team was not expected to be competitive but they finished 4th in one of the best conferences in the state and finished the season with a winning record. His efforts caught the attention of many and he tied with Coach Hill as Fishburne’s Coach of the Year.

The final and most prestigious of Fishburne Military School’s athletics awards was presented. The Colonel James G. Hogg Award is presented three times per year to the cadet-athlete who best embodies the ideals of athletic and academic excellence. A plaque in the Fishburne foyer permanently displays the names of recipients. Cadet Nick Broughman ’18 (Waynesboro, VA) was presented with the Hogg Award.


The full list of FMS Spring 2018 Athletics Awards follows:

James G. Hogg Award – Nickolas Broughman
Coach of the Year– Terrell Thompson – Head Baseball Coach
Coach of the Year– Dr. Paul “Chip” Hill – Head Football Coah
All-Patriot Football Conference Medal (Offense) – Dylan Bell
All-Patriot Football Conference Medal (Defense) – Tyler Dolin
All-VIC Baseball Medal – Wally Harris
All-VIC Baseball Medal – Nick Broughman

MVP – Wally Harris
Coach’s Award – Tyler Dolin
Most Improved – Charles Wilson
Iron Caisson – Dylan Bell
Caissons Hustle Award – Nick Broughman

MVP – Andrew Hawley
Coach’s Award – Andrew Hawley
Most Improved – Xiaoyu Chen
Caissons Hustle Award – William Harding

MVP – Thaddeus Mitchell

MVP – Benjamin Jarrett
Coach’s Award – Spencer Saunders
Caissons Hustle Award – Colin Meushaw
Iron Caisson – Walter Pultz

Track & Field
MVP – Jason Bruinius
Distance MVP – Garrett Rose
Sprinter MVP – John Norris
Field Events MVP – Hu Sung Lee
Coach’s Award – Riley Malone
Iron Caisson – Elijah Jackson
Caissons Hustle Award – Tyler Derozen
Caissons Hustle Award – John Sawn

Exhibition Drill Team
MVP – Gavin Flanagan
Coach’s Award – Bryson Overton
Most Improved – Michael Masone
Caissons Hustle Award – Elian Gonzalez
Iron Caisson – Joseph Montoya

MVP – Jason Bruinius
Coach’s Award – Ryan Curran
Most Improved – Riley Malone
Iron Caisson – Sam Wickstrom

Regulation Drill Team
MVP – Connor Green
Coach’s Award – Spencer Saunders
Most Improved – John Stephenson
Leadership Award – Justin Payne
Iron Caisson – Jack Clegg
Caissons Hustle Award – Riley Malone

Fishburne Military School is the oldest and smallest of all military schools for boys in Virginia. Its college-prep curriculum is built upon the structure of an Army JROTC program. FMS is designated as a JROTC Honor Unit with Distinction and may nominate qualified candidates to the United States Service Academies. Fishburne hosts one of only four Summer JROTC programs in the nation, accredited by US Army Cadet Command.