10 cadets sur un bateau dans la Seine posent pour une photo, la Tour Eiffel derrière eux.
Contact

(540) 946-7700 ext. 172

placey@fishburne.org

Bureau

Archway Tower Classroom in the Barracks

COURS \ RESPONSABILITÉS

Histoire américaine à double inscription
Histoire 10
Gouvernement
Football

Academic Cadre

CW2 Phillip Lacey

Instructeur et Coach

Travailler avec l'esprit grandissant des cadets est la chose la plus fascinante dans le fait d'être instructeur et entraîneur ici à Fishburne. Voir cela - et les nouvelles compétences acquises dès le premier jour - est exceptionnellement gratifiant et explique pourquoi je fais ce que je fais. Je pense que chaque élève peut réussir ici s'il a trois choses : des parents avec des carottes, des enseignants avec une notation rédemptrice et un objectif après l'obtention du diplôme. Et voici mon conseil intérieur : pendant que vous êtes à Fishburne, essayez de profiter de toutes les opportunités possibles. Pratiquez un sport, faites des excursions, rendez-vous et dansez, gardez votre uniforme impeccable; et prenez soin de vos camarades cadets, en particulier des jeunes.

CRÉDITS
Je suis titulaire d'un baccalauréat ès arts en histoire avec une concentration en Amérique latine et une mineure en anglais du Virginia Military Institute. Actuellement, je suis également un étudiant qui prépare une maîtrise en histoire à la South New Hampshire University. Je suis fier de mon service dans la Garde nationale de Virginie (2005-présent), en Afghanistan (2010-11), au Koweït/Irak (2014-15) et en Jordanie/Afghanistan (2021-22). Mes récompenses incluent une étoile de bronze (armée), une mention élogieuse (armée), une réalisation (Virginie), une mention élogieuse (Virginie), un service d'urgence (OTAN), une action de combat.

INTÉRÊTS
En plus du rôle d'instructeur et d'entraîneur, je suis aussi mari et père. J'aime être à l'extérieur, faire du vélo, du canoë et du jardinage. Mon côté ringard fait du bénévolat auprès de la ville de Staunton et du Conseil des codes du bâtiment, des codes d'incendie et des appels des zones inondables. Citation préférée : "Et maintenant, j'ai vu ce que je n'avais jamais vu auparavant" de Dante Alighieri.

Awards & Decorations Include:

  • Bronze Star Medal
  • Meritorious Service Medal
  • Army Commendation Medal with OLC
  • Army Achievement Medal with OLC
  • Army Meritorious Unit Commendation with OLC
  • Army Reserve Components Achievement Medal with 4 OLC
  • National Defense Service Medal
  • Afghanistan Campaign Medal with Campaign Star
  • Global War on Terror Expeditionary Medal
  • Global War on Terror Service Medal
  • Humanitarian Service Medal
  • Armed Forces Reserve Medal with “M” and Hourglass Device
  • Army Service Ribbon
  • Army Overseas Service Ribbon with Numeral 2
  • NATO Medal with “Afghanistan” Clasp
  • Combat Action Badge
  • Virginia National Guard Commendation Medal (Virginia)
  • Virginia Governor’s National Service Medal (Virginia)
  • Virginia National Guard 3-Year Service Ribbon (Virginia)
  • Virginia National Guard Emergency Service Ribbon (Virginia)
Favoris
Les FAVORIS de Philippe
  • Biscuit préféré

    Snickerdoodle

  • Acteur préféré

    Buster Keaton

  • Meilleur livre jamais écrit

    Les Miserables

  • Horreur ou Comédie

    Comédie

  • Destination préférée de la Vallée

    Parc Gypsy Hill

10 cadets on a boat in the Seine pose for a photo, the Eiffel Tower behind them.
Contact

(540) 946-7700 ext. 172

placey@fishburne.org

Office

Archway Tower Classroom in the Barracks

CLASSES \ RESPONSIBILITIES

Dual Enrollment American History
History 10
Government
Soccer

Academic Cadre

CW2 Phillip Lacey

Instructor and Coach

Working with cadet’s growing mind is the most fascinating thing about being an instructor and coach here at Fishburne. Seeing this—and new skills learned from day one—is exceptionally gratifying and why I do what I do. I think every student can succeed here if he has three things: parents with carrots, teachers with redemptive grading, and a goal after graduation. And here’s my inside tip: while you’re at Fishburne, try to take advantage of every opportunity possible. Play a sport, go on fieldtrips, dates and to the dances, keep your uniform impeccable; and take care of your fellow cadets—especially the youngsters.

CREDENTIALS
I hold a Bachelor of Art in History with a Latin American concentration and an English minor from Virginia Military Institute. Currently, I’m also a student working toward my Master’s degree in History at South New Hampshire University. I’m proud of my service in the Virginia Army National Guard (2005-present), Afghanistan (2010-11), Kuwait/Iraq (2014-15), and Jordan/Afghanistan (2021-22). My awards include a Bronze Star (Army), Commendation (Army), Achievement (Virginia), Commendation (Virginia), Emergency Service (NATO), Combat Action.

INTERESTS
In addition to the role of instructor and coach, I’m also a husband and a father. I love to be outdoors bicycling, canoeing, and gardening. My nerdy side volunteers with the City of Staunton and the Board of Building Codes, Fire Codes, & Flood Zone Appeals. Favorite quote: Dante Alighieri’s “And now I’ve seen what I’ve never seen before.” 

Awards & Decorations Include:

  • Bronze Star Medal
  • Meritorious Service Medal
  • Army Commendation Medal with OLC
  • Army Achievement Medal with OLC
  • Army Meritorious Unit Commendation with OLC
  • Army Reserve Components Achievement Medal with 4 OLC
  • National Defense Service Medal
  • Afghanistan Campaign Medal with Campaign Star
  • Global War on Terror Expeditionary Medal
  • Global War on Terror Service Medal
  • Humanitarian Service Medal
  • Armed Forces Reserve Medal with “M” and Hourglass Device
  • Army Service Ribbon
  • Army Overseas Service Ribbon with Numeral 2
  • NATO Medal with “Afghanistan” Clasp
  • Combat Action Badge
  • Virginia National Guard Commendation Medal (Virginia)
  • Virginia Governor’s National Service Medal (Virginia)
  • Virginia National Guard 3-Year Service Ribbon (Virginia)
  • Virginia National Guard Emergency Service Ribbon (Virginia)
Fav
Phillip’s FAVORITES
  • Favorite cookie

    Snickerdoodle

  • Favorite actor

    Buster Keaton

  • Best book ever written

    Les Miserables

  • Horror or Comedy

    Comedy

  • Favorite Valley destination

    Gypsy Hill Park